There’s America’s Cup history in the water at the 12 Metre World Cup


Give or treat yourself to a subscription to the print + digital Journal of Sailing and for only 69 euros a year you get the magazine at home plus read it on your PC, smartphone and tablet. With a sea of advantages.

In 12 Metre Wordl Cup racing at the world championship in Le Porquerolles

The America’s Cup is now projected toward hyper-technological means such as the AC 75s, which are changing the sailing world, and will probably never return to “traditional” boats. For those who love the history of this very old Trophy, and are nostalgic for more “traditional” racing, there is always great fascination with the 12 Meters, perhaps America’s Cup’s most famous Class of boats, with which the Cup was contested from 1958 to 1987.

Just these days, June 17-23, under the organization of the Porquerolles Yacht Club, the 12-Meter World Championship is taking place with 14 teams racing for the world title. Competitors in the World 12 Meters are divided by era as follows: in Group 1 France I, French Kiss, Crusader, South Australia, Kookaburra II, Kookaburra III and Kiwi Magic. In group 2 of the oldest: Thea, La Spina, Jennetta, Flica II, Nini Anker, Northern Light and Vim.

World 12 Meters – Not just nostalgia

The 12 M fleet moored at Porquerolles Yacht Club.

Mind you, the 12-Meter World Cup is not simply a gathering of traditional America’s Cup “nostalgic” people, but a tribute to the history of the Jug that still offers unique technical content. One only has to take a look at the crews of this World 12 Meters to imagine the technical level on the water with the 12 Meters: Torben Grael, Pietro D’Alì, Matteo Plazi, Jesper Bank, Santiago Lange, Marc Pajot, just to name a few of the names of the champions involved in the Worlds, sailors who have made history in America’s Cup and Olympic regattas.

12 Metre World Cup – A Cult Class

Patrizio Bertelli’s Kookaburra II, the patron from Arezzo is a true devotee of the 12 Meters and in addition to Kokaburra he also owns the Nyala.

This is the longest-lived class of boats in the Cup, the 12 Meters in fact, actually between 19 and 20 meters long, were used from 1956 until the 1987 edition (also Azzurra so ed.), then in 1992 the IACCs made their debut, of which the Moro and Luna Rossa were part.

The class actually originated long before the time they were used for the Cup, as early as the early 1900s, and they were also used for the 1908 London Olympic Games. Today there are about 20 in operation, enlivening a class where often racing at world championships or dedicated rallies are the best of yesterday’s and today’s Cup sailors who continue to compete in these boats.




Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Check out the latest issue

Are you already a subscriber?

Ultimi annunci
Our social

Sign up for our Newsletter

We give you a gift

Sailing, its stories, all boats, accessories. Sign up now for our free newsletter and receive the best news selected by the Sailing Newspaper editorial staff each week. Plus we give you one month of GdV digitally on PC, Tablet, Smartphone. Enter your email below, agree to the Privacy Policy and click the “sign me up” button. You will receive a code to activate your month of GdV for free!

Once you click on the button below check your mailbox



You may also be interested in.

Cino Ricci

Cino Ricci honored by America’s Cup Hall of Fame

Vincenzo “Cino” Ricci, strictly Cino to everyone, the legendary skipper of Azzurra and initiator of the first Italian challenge to the Cup in 1983, was honored with an award from the America’s Cup Hall of Fame. The Romagnolo, who will


Sign in