Sailor of the Year, who is in the top ten and who is taking a big risk


Give or treat yourself to a subscription to the print + digital Journal of Sailing and for only 69 euros a year you get the magazine at home plus read it on your PC, smartphone and tablet. With a sea of advantages.

The close of the first round of voting for the 2017 Sailor of the Year is approaching: you have until noon on Feb. 15 to give your favorite among the 100 initial candidates selected. The 50 most voted for will pass the round (at the bottom you will find the various stages of the Sailor of the Year, please note that you can only cast one vote and that in the next round the votes will be reset to zero).

ModelloCantiere CostruttoreLunghezza (M) (LOA)Anno di Progetto
GENESI 43Comar13.11990
GRAND SOLEIL 34Cantiere del Pardo10.181972
GRAND SOLEIL 343Cantiere del Pardo10.41985
GRAND SOLEIL 35Cantiere del Pardo11.11981
GRAND SOLEIL 39Cantiere del Pardo12.51983
GRAND SOLEIL 42Cantiere del Pardo12.651989
GRAND SOLEIL 50Cantiere del Pardo15.241993
GRAND SOLEIL 52Cantiere del Pardo16.31987

So far we have exceeded 10,000 votes, thanks to your participation. Frightening popular supremacy of Calabrian kiter Tony Cili, who leads the ranking with over 1,000 votes, followed by voter Giuseppe Fornich, owner of Grand Soleil 37 Sagola Biotrading. In third place was the very young Mattia Cesana, winner among the Cadets of the Garda Optimist Meeting, tailed by Gaetano Mura, who always draws great sympathy among sailors. In fifth place is a boat, Lisca Bianca, with which Sergio and Licia Albeggiani sailed around the world in the 1980s and which is now revived after painstaking restoration. He is followed by Francesco Guglielmo Balzano, also from Crotone like Cili, a young optimist, ahead of Andrea and Chicca Pestarini, the tireless navigators. In eighth place was designer Paolo Bua, then budding windsurfer Giuseppe Paolillo and Matteo Iachino, one of Italy’s strongest sailboard specialists.

Let’s see what’s going on in the rear: for now the last “virtual selected,” in 50th place, is little prince Pierre Casiraghi, tailed by Claudio Bazzoli (owner of Protgonist 7.50 Spirito Libero) and preceded by Andrea Mura. It will be around here that the rankings may undergo the real ups and downs between now and the 15th.


Each of the winners will be awarded a TAG Heuer Aquaracer Calibre 5 high-precision waterproof chronograph (pictured opposite), capable of withstanding depths of up to 300 meters.

For any information regarding the Sailor of the Year, please write to us at



Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Check out the latest issue

Are you already a subscriber?

Ultimi annunci
Our social

Sign up for our Newsletter

We give you a gift

Sailing, its stories, all boats, accessories. Sign up now for our free newsletter and receive the best news selected by the Sailing Newspaper editorial staff each week. Plus we give you one month of GdV digitally on PC, Tablet, Smartphone. Enter your email below, agree to the Privacy Policy and click the “sign me up” button. You will receive a code to activate your month of GdV for free!

Once you click on the button below check your mailbox



You may also be interested in.


Sign in